A Message from the Chairman & CEO

2019 is the 30th anniversary of the establishment of the TDCC. During the first 10 years, we focused mainly on depository, the second 10 years was focused on book entries, and the third 10 years was focused on the diversification of the business. With the efforts of all of our employees, we launched a diversified product line including equity securities, funds, bonds, short-term bills and derivative commodities, providing a full range of back-end quality services. We achieved outstanding results in the business sector, but we are not quite satisfied with this. We also hope to become a model of the corporate citizen under the social aspect. In 2019, we published the second corporate social responsibility report. In addition to receiving the "Excellence in Corporate Social Responsibility" again, we received the Platinum Award for "TCSA Corporate Sustainability Report" and TCSA's "Best Performance of Specific Categories - Social Inclusion Award " for the first time. In the future, we will continue to deepen the three aspects of financial influence, including economic development, caring for the society and protecting the environment, which are in line with the sustainable development goals of the United Nations, allowing both TDCC and Taiwan can operate sustainably and write a new chapter in history.

Facing the rapidly changing financial market, we use technology to transform and innovate, hoping to become a hub for building domestic financial services, researching and developing higher-quality customized products and comprehensive services, and taking digitization and intelligence as the main axis of innovation. We also hope to continuously improve and optimize the core business, actively promote business diversification, integrate digital platforms for services, create the greatest value of data through the integration of cross-border, cross-industry, and cross-environment and build a safer, more efficient, and low-cost financial market with a back-office service. In line with the financial inclusion goal set by the World Bank, besides from expanding the promotion of financial management and financial education, TDCC is gradually transforming into a service company. We adhere to the concept of friendly cooperation within the market, such as building user-friendly interfaces and diversified channels and combining robot intelligence services, big data marketing, cloud services and other information technologies to integrate financial management into everyday life while building a digital innovative ecosystem, and enhance digital services in Taiwan's financial market. By exerting the functions of digital FinTech, we strengthen the protection of investors' rights and safeguard financial security, apply visual tools and big data to provide competent authorities with timely market supervision and efficient analysis results, and implement supervision responsibilities for financial markets of our country.

In terms of corporate governance, as more and more institutional investors begin to incorporate "environmental, social and governance" (ESG) indicators into investment decisions, we have successively established cooperative relations with several international ESG research institutions and scoring systems. Our partners include the ESG scoring agency Sustainalytics, who became our first strategic partner in early 2019, and the international electronic voting agency ISS, known for its shareholder meeting and corporate governance research, who has also expanded its cooperation with us in the ESG sector. At the same time, in conjunction with the "New Corporate Governance Roadmap" (2018-2020) of the Financial Supervisory Commission, we formally launched the "Investor Relations Integration Platform", which significantly improved the quality and transparency of information exchange between investors and companies, and increased the willingness and stickiness of foreign investment in Taiwan. In 2019, the Asia-Pacific Group on Money Laundering (APG)'s evaluation of the country's overall prevention of money laundering determined that Taiwan would be promoted to the highest level of "regular follow-up", which shows that Taiwan's efforts to eliminate money laundering are being recognized internationally. In the past few years, we cooperated with governments to provide the "AML/CFT Screening Platform" to be used by units that are legally required to handle anti-money laundering operations in order to further assist them in investigating the actual beneficiary information of corporate clients. The "Company Transparency Platform" was set up according to government policies, which provides the corresponding units to inquire and thoroughly inventory the customers. We were also awarded the "Special Thank You Award" at the Money Laundering Prevention Evaluation and Commendation Conference of the Anti-Money Laundering Office of the Executive Yuan in October 2019. In the future, we will continue to assist relevant units with fulfilling their international obligations to prevent money laundering and counter financing of terrorism.

TDCC has been engaged in international exchange activities for many years. In 2019, we served as a member of the Board of Directors to the World Forum of CSDs. We promote the concept of global cooperation, reorganize working groups, strengthen member cooperation, explore new business opportunities, strengthen exchanges with other regional organizations and joint training of personnel, and promote Taiwan to move towards the global stage. In response to "The New Southbound Policy", TDCC held the first "International Investor Service Symposium" in 2019 with TSD and KSD, inviting industry experts and members of the Asia Pacific CSD Group (ACG) to share innovative and diversified shareholders' meeting services to create regional prosperity and development.

Showing care for the society, we use actions to promote the concept of corporate care, promote employees' regular exercise habits, and create a healthy and happy workplace. In 2019, we also obtained the "Corporate Sports Certification" from the Sports Administration of the Ministry of Education and the "Healthy Workplace Certification" from the National Health Administration of the Ministry of Health and Welfare in 2019. We have long promoted education in rural areas, cared for the disadvantaged groups, sponsored remedial programs, arts programs, and sports teams of primary schools, and organized various charity activities such as blood donations for the past 10 years, actively responding to and taking care of the society's needs. We organized the second "TDCC Archery Tournament" hoping that through the support of the enterprise, children in rural areas will have the opportunity to stand on the course and demonstrate their talent in the archery field, increasing their capability in participating in future international competitions. As it is the 30th anniversary of TDCC in 2019, the "The 30th TDCC Joint Concert" was held to present the learning results of long-term beneficiary rural school children from Hualien County.

As for environmental protection, we enhanced the digital financial environment and reduced the impact of business activities on the environment. Through the development of comprehensive dematerialized issuance of stocks, book-entry operations, automation of issuer connection, e-voting platform, TDCC ePassbook, and electronic transmission of application forms significantly reduced the amount of paper used in Taiwan's financial industry and carbon emissions from physical documents. TDCC spare no effort in promoting the paperless concept. We also conducted inventory of greenhouse gases for 2019 and the scope of the inventory was further expanded to include business travel in scope 3, starting from gradually mastering our own carbon emissions. The ISO 50001 Energy Management System was also introduced for the first time in 2019. From the overall strategic planning to the actual implementation of energy saving and carbon reduction, we are moving towards the development of a green enterprise.

At this significant moment of the 30th anniversary, we have successively provided diversified services other than stocks, taken advantage of existing big data, conformed to the rapid development of international digital information, embraced technology and innovation, and introduced new information services based on the user's needs which are generally well received. As the "service provider" of the national capital market, in the next 10 years, we will take the promotion of the society well-being as an important mission, implement the concept of innovative development and sustainable management, and give full play to stable financial influence in order to become the strongest and most powerful back-up for Taiwan's financial market. Together with corporate partners, we will promote the development of Taiwan's capital market and move towards the global stage.

圖片 Sherman Lin, Chairman & CEO of TDCC

經營者的話

2019年集保結算所成立30週年了,第一個10年以保管為主,第二個10年為帳簿劃撥,第三個10年是業務多元化發展,在全體同仁的努力下,推出了包括權益證券、基金、債券、短期票券及衍生性商品等多樣化的產品線,提供全方位的後台優質服務。在業務面我們有了卓越的成果,然而我們並不以此為滿足,在社會面我們也希冀成為企業公民典範。2019年我們發行第二本企業社會責任報告書,除再度獲得「天下企業公民獎」,更晉級榮獲「TCSA企業永續報告白金獎」及首次參加即榮獲的「TCSA企業最佳單項績效獎-社會共融獎」。未來我們將持續深化經濟發展、關懷社會與保護環境等三大面向的金融影響力,呼應聯合國永續發展目標,使公司與臺灣皆能永續經營,寫下新的歷史。

面對變化快速的金融市場,我們利用科技進行轉型創新,期許成為打造國內金融服務的樞紐(Hub)角色,研發更優質的客製化商品及全方面服務,將數位化與智能化作為創新主軸,持續精進優化核心業務,積極推動業務多元化,整合服務數位平台,透過跨界、跨業、跨境的整合,創造資料最大的價值,為金融市場建置更安全、更有效率且低成本的後台服務。同時,為呼應世界銀行的普惠金融目標,除了擴大宣導理財與金融教育之外,集保結算所正逐步轉化為服務型公司,秉持著與市場合作共好共融的概念,友善的使用介面與多元化通路需求,與時俱進結合機器人智能服務、大數據行銷、雲服務等資訊技術,將理財行為融入生活,打造數位創新生態系,提升我國金融市場數位基礎服務。此外,我們藉由發揮數位金融科技的功能,強化保障投資人權益及維護金融安全,運用視覺化工具,實踐大數據運用的效果,提供主管機關及時的市場監理與高效率的分析成果,貫徹國家金融市場的監理職責。

在公司治理方面,隨著愈來愈多機構投資人開始將「環境、社會和治理」(ESG)指標納入投資決策,我們陸續和多個國際ESG研究機構與評分系統建立合作關係,其中歐洲著名的ESG評分機構Sustainalytics公司便率先於2019年初成為我們的策略夥伴,而以股東會及公司治理研究聞名的國際電子投票機構ISS也與我們在ESG領域擴大合作關係。同時,配合金管會「新版公司治理藍圖」(2018-2020),我們正式啟動「投資人關係整合平台」,顯著提升投資人與公司間資訊交流之品質與透明度,增進外資對臺灣的投資意願及黏著度。此外,2019年亞太防制洗錢組織(APG)就國家整體防制洗錢之評鑑結果確定將臺灣提升為「一般追蹤」之最佳等級,顯示臺灣杜絕洗錢的努力獲國際肯定。過去幾年我們配合政府政策提供「防制洗錢及打擊資恐查詢系統」給依法應辦理防制洗錢作業之單位使用,並為進一步協助其調查法人客戶之實質受益人資料,依政府指定建置「公司負責人及主要股東資訊平臺」提供使用單位查詢,完善使用單位之客戶盡職審查作業,也於2019年10月行政院洗錢防制辦公室的洗錢防制評鑑發表暨表揚大會上獲頒「特別感謝獎」,未來我們仍將持續協助相關單位踐履防制洗錢及打擊資恐之國際義務。

在國際交流方面,集保結算所長年投入國際交流活動,2019年並擔任世界集保組織董事會成員,將推動全球合作、重整工作小組、強化會員合作、探求新商機、加強與其他區域組織交流及辦理人員聯合訓練等理念,推升臺灣朝世界舞台邁進。另為響應新南向政策,集保結算所2019年與泰國集保公司、韓國集保公司舉辦首屆「投資人服務國際研討會」,邀集產業專家及亞太地區集保組織(ACG)會員分享創新多元的股東會服務,共創區域繁榮發展。

在社會關懷方面,我們以實際行動實踐企業關懷理念,對內推動員工規律運動習慣,打造健康幸福企業職場,2019年更獲得教育部體育署「運動企業認證」及衛福部國健署2019年「健康職場認證」的殊榮;對外我們則長期推動偏鄉教育、關懷弱勢族群,贊助基層學校課輔才藝計畫及體育團隊,持續10年舉辦愛心捐血等各式公益活動,積極回應並照顧社會的需要。我們舉辦「第二屆集保盃射箭聯誼賽」,希望透過企業的支持力量,讓偏鄉或弱勢的孩子也能在射箭領域逐夢踏實,增加日後參與國際級賽事實力。此外,因適逢30週年,2019年更擴大舉辦「集保30 永續前行-九校聯合音樂會」,將長期花蓮縣受惠學校齊聚一堂,完整呈現偏鄉學童平時學習的成果。

在環境保護方面,我們透過深化數位金融環境,降低商業活動中帶給環境的衝擊。藉由發展股票全面無實體發行、票券逐步朝向全面無實體、帳簿劃撥作業、發行人連線作業自動化、電子投票平台、集保e存摺、申請表單電子化傳送等服務,大幅降低臺灣金融業紙張使用量,及實體文件傳送的碳排放量,於無紙化的推動上不遺餘力。2019年我們也持續執行溫室氣體盤查,盤查範圍更進一步擴大至範疇三的商務差旅,從逐步掌握自身碳排放情形做起。此外,2019年我們也首度導入ISO 50001能源管理系統,從整體策略性的規劃,到落實節能減碳的實際作為,邁向綠色企業發展。

在30週年這別具意義的時刻,一路走來除了股票外,我們陸續提供多元的服務,利用既有的大數據優勢,順應國際數位資訊快速發展的世代,擁抱科技、勇於創新,針對用戶的需求推出新的資訊服務,也備受各界肯定。作為全國資本市場的「服務提供者」,面對下一個10年,我們將以促進社會共好做為重要使命,貫徹創新發展、永續經營的理念,發揮穩定金融影響力,成為我國金融市場走向國際舞台最強而有力的後盾,與企業夥伴共同推升我國資本市場繁盛發展。

圖片 臺灣集中保管結算所董事長 林修銘