Electronic Voting

STOCKVOTE Platform

To provide Taiwan market with full mechanism for shareholders to execute their voting rights, TDCC has completed the implementation of e-voting platform, STOCKVOTE in 2009 by following the order of competent authority.

Issuers, after signing contracts with TDCC, will be able to offer electronic voting services to their shareholders through the platform, which will have the same effect as attendance in person at general meetings. By utilize the Internet as its user interface, STOCKVOTE allows investors to log in to the system for voting with secure ID check mechanism, i.e., identification by user’s CA (Certificate of Authentication). Following the launch of this new platform, shareholders will be able to exercise their voting rights regardless of distance, and concentration of general meetings. Each voting record is embedded with a digital signature of CA. There will also be a full audit trail for those e-voting record.

On receiving a notice of general meetings, shareholders would be advised whether the company has provided electronic voting services. Alternatively, the shareholder may access the website of STOCKVOTE (https://www.stockvote.com.tw/) to get to know if the company adopts TDCC’s “STOCKVOTE” for their general meetings. After logging in to the system with CA, the shareholder may choose the specific company and input his/her/its Shareholder Account Number to access the agenda and related details of the general meetings, and then exercise their rights through electronic voting for those proposals.

For foreign institutional investors and mutual funds, e-voting can be done through their agents or representatives such as custodian banks and securities investment trust firms (SITEs), etc. Apart from using CA to verify the identity of these agents/representatives, TDCC also designed the confirmation mechanism of voting contents for these agents/representatives to meet their internal control. Furthermore, online voting and batch voting are also available for these agents/representatives to make the operation more convenient.

Automated corporate action information transmission

In order to enhance the operating efficiency of the market, TDCC established C.A.Net, a dedicated corporate action information website in April 2013 upon the approval of the competent authorities. The purpose of C.A.Net is to provide electronic corporate action services (excluding voting) for depositories and issuers’ corporate action units.

With more companies going public on the TWSE and TPEx markets, depositories and the corporate action units of issuing companies had to put in a huge workforce to manually process information of dividend distribution and tax benefits and keep foreign investors informed, either by email, facsimile or inquiry letter, and a standardized operating procedure was nonexistent. As such, in March 2014, TDCC incorporated into C.A.Net a system of information transmission between depositories and the corporate action units for matters regarding dividend distribution and tax benefits, and provided a standardized operating procedure and message format to ensure safe, efficient and convenient exchanges of information between depositories and issuers, consequently improving the market efficiency and reducing the operating costs and risks.

Straight Through Process (STP) service

Given the recommendation of the Asian Corporate Governance Association (ACGA) in its 2011 annual report that Taiwan should establish a STP mechanism to facilitate participation in corporate actions and voting by foreign shareholders, and in response to the Corporate Governance Blueprint laid out by competent authorities, TDCC had worked with Broadridge, the largest international voting platform provider, on automated transmission before introducing our own STP mechanism in December 2014 to provide various services including (a) review of holdings statement for domestic depositories and the corporate action units of issuing companies; (b) forwarding of English meeting agendas on behalf of depositories; and (c) receipt of voting instructions from clients of depositories from overseas and the subsequent data processing.

To expand the service scope for foreign investors, TDCC entered into the partnership with Institutional Shareholder Services (ISS), the second largest international voting platform provider, connecting directly to ISS via STP mechanism to receive voting instructions from ISS' global custodian clients. The partnership enabled more foreign investors to participate in shareholder meetings and improved the competitive capability of Taiwan’s capital market.

With the STP mechanism in place for cross-border voting by foreign investors, depositories and issuers can create standardized, automated and streamlined operating procedure as far as voting is concerned. The improved voting efficiency will reduce the risks and costs of market operations. Investors now have more time (2-4 extra days versus without STP) to vote, and issuers also have more time to win the support of foreign investors for their proposals.

電子投票

股東會電子投票平台─股東e票通

為落實股東行動主義,維護股東行使股東會表決權之權利,並配合主管機關推動電子投票制度之政策,本公司於2009年建置完成「股東e票通」電子投票平台,提供投資人行使股東會表決權。

發行公司與本公司簽訂委託契約,提供股東得透過本平台,以電子方式行使表決權,其效力等同親自出席股東會。「股東e票通」係以網際網路為使用者介面,搭配網路安全機制,投資人僅需具備採CA憑證作為使用者身分識別,或透過智慧型行動裝置,使用本公司集保e存摺之身分識別方式,即可登入平台進行投票,使股東表決權之行使不受時間、空間距離以及股東會日期集中之限制。

當股東收到股東會開會通知書後,先確認該公司是否在通知書上載明提供電子投票,或進入「股東e票通」查詢使用本平台之公司股東會資訊。股東登入本平台後,點選欲投票之公司,即可瀏覽股東會議案及議事資料等內容,並就所有議案以電子方式進行表決。

至於外資股東及共同基金,則可透過其保管機構、投資信託公司等機構代理/代表投票,本平台因應該等機構內部控制之需要,除透過CA憑證確認身分外,並提供經辦與主管覆核確認投票內容之機制。另為考量其投資標的眾多,本平台提供單筆與整批二種投票模式便於作業。

「股東e票通」網址:https://www.stockvote.com.tw/

股務資訊傳遞自動化服務

本公司為提升市場作業效率,經主管機關核准後,於2013年4月建置「C.A.Net股務資訊網」,提供保管機構與股務單位間,分割投票申請資料傳送與接收之電子化服務。

隨著上市(櫃)、興櫃公司家數愈來愈多,保管機構與股務單位處理外資股東分派股利及租稅優惠稅率等股務訊息之通知與核對,實務作業仍以大量人工聯繫處理(例如:email、傳真、徵詢函等),全市場欠缺標準化作業,本公司爰於2014年3月將保管機構與股務單位間之分派股利及租稅優惠稅率等股務資訊傳輸作業,納入「C.A.Net股務資訊網」服務範圍,透過本公司訂定標準作業程序及統一媒體格式,建立市場標準化之股務資訊傳輸作業,提供保管機構與發行人間安全、效率及便捷之自動化傳輸環境,提升整體市場作業效率及降低作業成本與風險。

跨國投票直通處理STP服務

配合主管機關建構我國公司治理藍圖,並回應亞洲公司治理協會(ACGA)2011年報告中建議臺灣市場應建立跨國投票直通處理(STP)機制,以利外國股東參與投票,本公司透過與全球最大之國際投票機構(Broadridge)系統連線自動化傳輸合作,於2014年12月建置「跨國投票直通處理STP(Straight Through Process)」處理機制,提供國內保管機構與發行人股務單位間之客戶持股部位對帳、代保管機構傳送英文版議案、接收保管機構外國客戶之跨國投票指示及後續資料處理等服務。

為跨大外資投票服務範圍,於2019年與全球第2大之國際投票機構Institutional Shareholder Services (簡稱ISS公司)完成系統連線自動化傳輸合作,提供使用ISS公司國際投票平台之外資股東,亦可利用本公司跨國投票直通處理STP機制完成外資股東股東會投票作業,提供更多外資股東透過跨國投票直通處理STP服務,積極參與我國公司股東會,有效提升我國競爭力。

外資股東之跨國投票直通處理STP 機制,保管機構與發行人股務單位可建立投票作業標準化、自動化及單軌化流程,提高處理投票作業之效率並降低市場作業風險與成本,除可優化外資投票之時間管理(較原本多出2至4日),同時延長了發行人與外資股東溝通對議案支持之時間與機會。